TIL – Teff

Today is Monday, July 28, 2014, and I am sitting on a couch in the living room of my sister-in-law and her husband in Rockville, Maryland.

I am devouring game after game of QuizUp, an app that I was introduced to on Friday by my nephew (as previously seen on Mr. Sandosen).

I am working my way through the Science category to achieve Level 5. I am attempting to earn the achievement that shows that I have climbed to the fifth level in three topics in each and every category.

I am winning about two out of every three quizzes that I play and so I am climbing up the ladder towards unlocking the Voyager I badge. While unlocking achievements feels good, what I also like about this app is the ability to learn something new. It was while I was in the Science category – and the exact question eludes me for the moment – where I discovered today’s nugget of knowledge.

TILTeff is a grain from Ethiopia.

I had never heard of teff before, but the Internet is all over it. There is The Guardian proclaiming that teff will supplant quinoa as the “next big thing” in Western groceries. The Washington Post chimes in with an introduction to the grain (and also tells quinoa to watch out).

There’s even a place out in the Snake River area of Idaho that grows the grain. Not surprisingly, it is called The Teff Company.

Oh, and teff is gluten-free.

It’s a good day when you learn something new.

Leave a Reply

